Wakefield Inn      
2723 Wakefield Rd, Wakefield, NH 03872-4374, USA    
(800) 245-0841, (603) 522-8272


- $189

Book a Room $119 - $189

Send as Postcard

Visit Website


4 based on 3 reviews
See all Reviews
Write a Review

Tell the Innkeeper that
iLoveInns sent you!


Circa 1804. Early travelers pulled up to the front door of the Wakefield Inn by stagecoach, and while they disembarked, their luggage was handed up to the second floor. It was brought in through the door, which is still visible over the porch roof. A spiral staircase, ruffled curtains, wallpapers and a wraparound porch all create the romantic ambiance of days gone by. In the living room, an original three-sided fireplace casts a warm glow on guests as it did more than 190 years ago.

For more information visit the website.


$119 to $189

Off Season: $79 to $159

Payment Types Accepted Include Visa, Travelers Checks, Personal Checks, Master Card, American Express and Discover.

    • Breakfast
    • Snacks/Refreshments
    • Wine


This property has 6 total guest accommodations with private bath, 1 with fireplace. The types of beds available include Twin, Queen and King.

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bath Amenities
  • Bathrobes
  • Fireplace
  • Gift Shop
  • Hair Dryer
  • Wireless Internet Access

Business Traveler Amenities

  • Wireless Internet Access

Events Hosted

    • Romantic Getaways
    • Weddings
    • Family Reunions
    • Culinary Retreats

Foreign Languages Spoken


Spa Services

On-Site Spa Services

  • Massages

Off-Site Spa Services Available

Nearby Recommended Spas

Zen Glow Skincare and Day Spa
(603) 569-7888

Beyond the Basics Salon and Day Spa
(603) 569-2099

Inns Of Interest

    • Literary Figures Asscociated With Inns
    • National Historic Register
    • Gardens
    • Oldest Continuously Operated Inns
    • Stagecoach Stops
    • Who Slept/Visited Here

Liquor License

    • Beer & Wine

Pet Restrictions

  • Innkeepers pets on premises

Romantic Interest

Fireplace in common area, cozy beds, champagne and strawberries available upon request, breakfast in bed available with advance notice. Peaceful, quiet setting to reconnect with each other.

Innkeepers Association Memberships


Describe Garden and Grounds

Cottage garden, outdoor patio with pond and waterfall. Surrounded by trees and a large back yard.

Reservation/Cancellation Policies:

Minimum Stay Requirements

Two nights on weekends May-November

Children Restrictions

Well Behaved and Supervised by parents/guardians.


14 days


Smoke Free Property.

Other Activities

    • Skiing Downhill
    • Skiing Cross Country
    • Shopping (Local Crafts)
    • Parks
    • Horseback Riding
    • Hiking
    • Golf
    • Fishing
    • Canoeing/Kayaking
    • Bicycling
    • Art Galleries
    • Antiquing
    • Water Sports
    • Historic Museums

Historic Interest

Built in 1804, opened as Inn 1893. Tallest free-standing Spiral staircase in New Hampshire. Large 3-sided fireplace with bee-hive oven in common area.

Historic Awards:

  • National Register (Granted)

Historic Memberships:

  • Local Historical Society

Historic sites nearby:

New Hampshire Farm Museum (7 Miles), Wakefield Corner Historic District (Inn loceted here), Wright Museum (10 Miles), Governor Wentworth Farmstead (8 miles)

Hearty Belgium Waffles With Berry Sauce

Great start to the day, and they will never guess that they are good for them. Whole Wheat flour, Oatmeal, Yogurt make these Waffles low in fat, and packed with nutrition without sacrificing taste.

Rosemary Lemon Scone

Wonderfully light scones with zest of lemon and hint of rosemary. Great with Rhubarb Jam or Blueberry Preserves.

Write a review

Owner need Hospitality 101 class

I stayed here on Easter and things were fine, so I re-booked for Mother Day to surprise my mother with a night away. Upon entering the Inn the gentlemen owner said nothing to us, did not introduce himself or even smile. Their dog Ace was more welcoming and excited to see us. My mother was disappointed and I made excuses for the owner so she would feel at ease. We had fun in our room and made the best of it, the next morning was not much better. Judith their helper was nice and friendly.
Jacqueline Pettit
Brookfield, NH

Management Response
"We are so surprised to hear that you did not enjoy the stay with us. I can only think that perhaps we were taken aback by the extra guest you had with you, that we did not know about. We always strive to be prepared for the arrival of all our guests, and have never had a situation when someone adds another adult to a room without advance notice. I am also surprised, since I overheard how wonderful the Mother's Day was, and what a wonderful breakfast of homemade pear cardamom scones, sautéed apples, and puff pancake with strawberry rhubarb sauce and apple wood smoked bacon. My daughter Olivia enjoyed playing with your daughter, and I enjoyed reading her a bedtime story. So sorry we were not able to meet your expectations." Thank you, Janel Martin Innkeeper
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.
My ratings for this property      
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.


Comfortable accommodations, excellent food and exquisite decor highlighted by your quilts.

My ratings for this property      
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (1 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

We'll definitely be going back!

We had an excellent time and definitely plan to go back! The rooms are very roomy and comfortable, we were immediately relaxed. The history of the Inn is very interesting and we loved all the little rooms you could relax in, I felt like I'd been there my whole life! Janel is AWESOME, we could have talked food with her for days, and we learned alot during our cooking lesson. The package (with massage) we got was perfect, everything was high quality and added to the experience.
Roxanne Ellis Raymond
Wareham, MA

My ratings for this property      
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

At A Glance

3 Review(s)
67% would stay again
Add your review

Very Good




Other Ratings: "3 AAA Diamonds, "iLoveInns Guests

Publicity and Press Reviews

Foster's Daily Democrat, ToDo New Hampshire, New Hampshire Magazine, WASR 1420.